To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

To Kill a Mockingbird

GENRE- Classic

PUBLISHED- July 11, 1960

RATING- 2/5 stars

GOODREADS SUMMARY

The unforgettable novel of a childhood in a sleepy Southern town and the crisis of conscience that rocked it, To Kill A Mockingbird became both an instant bestseller and a critical success when it was first published in 1960. It went on to win the Pulitzer Prize in 1961 and was later made into an Academy Award-winning film, also a classic.

Compassionate, dramatic, and deeply moving, To Kill A Mockingbird takes readers to the roots of human behavior—to innocence and experience, kindness and cruelty, love and hatred, humor and pathos. Now with over 18 million copies in print and translated into forty languages, this regional story by a young Alabama woman claims universal appeal. Harper Lee always considered her book to be a simple love story. Today it is regarded as a masterpiece of American literature.

MY REVIEW

    To Kill a Mockingbird was the first classic I ever read. This book is one of the most beautifully written books I have ever read. Harper Lee made me feel so many different emotions reading this book with her amazing writing. But when I finished this book I had mixed reviews. Most people adore this books and think it’s the best classic ever but I just had so many problems with this book.

I think the basis of this book was very good and inspiring but I felt like the plot was jumping around a lot. It was like the characters were doing one thing and it just turned into them doing another thing quite quickly. It seemed that there was no main plot to the story, which bothered me. The perspective of this book was out of my comfort zone making it a little less enjoyable than if I was use to reading books similar to this.

    This book had awesome characters. I love Atticus and Scout so much. Atticus had such a great sense of humor and I love how he was committed to racial equality. Scout was such a strong outgoing little girl. She didn’t take crap from anyone and was so tough.

    I did find myself getting quite bored throughout this book. I would pick it up and start reading and then easily distracted and find myself forcing myself to read it.But there was very good parts in the book like humorous and life learning parts.

    If you haven’t read this book I suggest you go pick it up! I wasn’t my cup of tea but it was an amazing book and other people very much enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

